Embassy of the Philippines > Embassy of the Philippines DC >> News


26/11/2008: 26 Filipino American Students Receive Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards for Outstanding Academic Achievement

On November 23, 2008, the Embassy hosted the Awarding Ceremony for the recipients of the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards. Started in 1993, the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards is an annual project of the Philippine Foundation for Charities, Inc. in collaboration with the Philippine Embassy.

The Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards recognizes outstanding academic achievements of Filipino American youth in the Metro Washington DC area. For school year 2007-2008, the following 26 young Filipino Americans received the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards:

  1. Faustinray Abogadie
  2. Gabrielle Abogadie
  3. Katherine Argente
  4. Kayla Argente
  5. Kevin Argente
  6. Joseph Chavez
  7. Michael Datiles
  8. Cecilia Esteban
  9. Emilo Esteban
  10. Margarita Esteban
  11. Nariella Fernandez
  12. Natalia Fernandez
  13. Jacqueline Loberiza
  14. Chritine Lorica
  15. Tatiana Lozano
  16. Nicholas Mendez
  17. Theodore Mendez
  18. William Mendez
  19. Kelvin Moncera
  20. Nikko Nolasco
  21. Mark Ramada
  22. Michael Ramada
  23. Alfred Udquim
  24. Krizia Udquim
  25. Anthony Venida
  26. Nicollete Fernandez

Each awardee received a framed certificate of recognition for their outstanding academic achievements which was signed by Philippine Ambassador to the United States Willy C. Gaa and by the PAFC, Inc.  President, Ador Carreon.  The awardees also received an Philippine Embassy engraved writing pens.

The event was also marked by the turn over of leadership of the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards Committee to  spouses Roberto and Divina Tamayo. They took over the mantle of leadership from spouses Orlando and Ruby Barbosa who served as the co-chairpersons of the Awards Committee for the last ten years.

DCM Carlos Sorreta and Consul Rico Fos with the 2008 Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awardees and the officers of the Philippine American Foundation for Charities, Inc.

DCM Carlos Sorreta addressing the 2008 Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awardees and their parents and other guests

The Rizal Youth Awards Committee for 2008: L-R spouses Roberto and Divina Tamayo, 2008 Rizal Awards Chairpersons, spouses Orlando and Ruby Barbosa, outgoing Rizal Awards Chairpersons, Eileen Nadal, President of La Salle Alumni Association and member of the 2008 Rizal Awards Committee, Myla Fos, Member of the 2008 Rizal Awards Committee, Consul Rico Fos, Co Chairperson of the 2008 Rizal Awards Committee, and DCM Carlos King Sorreta