Embassy of the Philippines > Embassy of the Philippines DC >> News


30/05/2012: Ambassador Cuisia Urges Fil-Am Community to Support US-PHL Society and Welcome President Aquino at June 7 Dinner

30 May 2012, Washington D.C. Philippine Ambassador to the United States Jose L. Cuisia, Jr. is inviting Filipino Americans to support the newly-created United States-Philippines Society as the organization welcomes H.E. President Benigno S. Aquino III during its inaugural dinner at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington, D.C. on June 7, 2012.

“This dinner will be a great opportunity for Filipino Americans to show their support to President Aquino and to the newly-formed U.S.-Philippines Society, whose goal is to draw more attention in Washington to various issues in U.S.-Philippine relations,”  Ambassador Cuisia said.

With the opening of its offices in Washington, D.C. on May 1, 2012, the U.S.-Philippines Society realizes the vision of its founders to create a new and timely mechanism for elevating the Philippines' profile in the United States. Its mission is to build on the rich and longstanding historical ties between the two nations and help to bring that unique relationship fully into the 21st century at a junction when U.S. policy interests are increasingly focused on the Asia Pacific region.

The Society's board is co-chaired by Ambassador John D. Negroponte, former U.S. ambassador to the Philippines, and Mr. Manuel V. Pangilinan, Chairman of the Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company. Honorary Chairs are Mr. Washington Z. Sycip and Mr. Maurice "Hank" Greenberg.  The other Founding Board Members are Mr. Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala (Ayala Corp.), Ambassador Roberto R. Romulo, Ambassador Thomas C. Hubbard (McLarty Associates), Mr. Robert A. McDonald (Procter & Gamble),  Ms. Melody Meyer (Chevron), Atty. Cirilo P. Noel (SGV), Mr. Enrique K. Razon, Jr. (ICTSI), Mr. Aurelio R. Montinola III (BPI), Mr. Dennis Wright (Peregrine), Mr. Jay Collins (Citigroup) and Ms. Teresita Sy-Coson (SM Investments). Board Members also include Mr. Ramon del Rosario, Jr. (PHINMA), Ms. Doris Magsaysay-Ho (Magsaysay Shipping), Mr. Henry Howard (US Education Finance Group) and Ms. Loida Nicolas Lewis (TLC Beatrice).

The U.S.-Philippines Society is a private sector initiative designed to encourage economic ties, promote trade and investment, support bilateral strategic and political goals, and strengthen cultural, technological, tourism and people-to-people linkages, especially educational and academic exchanges. The President of the Society is Ambassador John F. Maisto and its Executive Director is Mr. Hank Hendrickson.  Its offices are located at 1712 N Street, NW, Suite 301, Washington, D.C., 20036.

As a registered 501(c)3 non-profit organization, the cost of purchasing tickets to the Society’s dinner in honor of President Aquino on June 7 at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel is tax deductible.  Interested parties may contact Ms. Kimberley Palmese at telephone number 202 741-1291 or email kimberley@webstergroupinc.com. (END)