Embassy of the Philippines > Embassy of the Philippines DC >> News


21/11/2011: Ambassador Cuisia Confers Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards on 35 Fil-Am Students

Ambassador Jose L. Cuisia, Jr. (center, second row) joins the 2011 Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awardees during the conferment ceremony held on November 19, 2011 at the Embassy of the Philippines.

November 21, 2011, Washington, DC – The 19th Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards was held on November 19, 2011 at the Embassy of the Philippines. A project of the Philippine American Foundation for Charities, Inc. (PAFC) and supported by the Embassy, the youth awards aims to give recognition to outstanding Filipino-American students for achieving excellent grades while being active in extracurricular undertakings. Through the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards, young Filipino-Americans are encouraged to learn more about the Philippine national hero.

This year’s youth awards also commemorates the 150th birth anniversary of the national hero.

This year’s awardees received a medal and certificate signed by His Excellency Jose L. Cuisia, Jr., Ambassador of the Philippines to the United States; Ms. Rebecca Pagsibigan, President of PAFC; and, Mr. Roberto Tamayo, Vice President of PAFC and Chairman of the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards. They are:

  1. Luke Filon,
  2. Katherine Argente
  3. Wilfredo Augusto Cadacio, III
  4. Nicole Sayson Hammond
  5. Madeline Iriarte
  6. Nariella Fernandez
  7. Eliza Buan
  8. Jacob Filon
  9. Mavis Joy Manaloto
  10. Kayla Argente
  11. Jed Paolo dela Torre
  12. Natalia Fernandez
  13. Marc Daniel Manaloto
  14. Katherine Michelle Quion
  15. Allan James Phillips
  16. Alvin Jeffrey P. Macasero
  17. Joseph McHenry Cajayon Chavez
  18. Aria Renee San Pedro Curameng
  19. Bernadette Ferrer
  20. Sabrina Iriarte
  21. Theodore Mendez
  22. Alfred-Enberg Tan Udquim
  23. Christine Grace Mayuga
  24. Mark Ramada
  25. Kevin Argente
  26. Julian Iriarte
  27. Alphonso Gaston Lopez
  28. Rezia Era Braza
  29. William Mendez
  30. Tatiana Lozano
  31. Michael Ramada
  32. Hanna Michelle Montoro
  33. Jireh Lee Silva
  34. Krizia-Ivana Tan Udquim
  35. Krista Bacungan

Atty. Ramon Paterno (second from left), co-founder of the Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards, was also conferred with a special medal by Ambassador Cuisia. With them are PAFC President Rebecca Pagsibigan (left) and PAFC Vice President and Awards Committee Chair Roberto Tamayo.

Ambassador Cuisia addressed the young awardees and informed them of the diligence of Rizal as a student. He said, “Rizal believed that education is important for the empowerment of the people.” He congratulated the awardees and asked them to study harder and always be a step ahead just like how Rizal was during his time. The Ambassador added that with information readily accessible to the public, “I urge you to use today’s technology to your full advantage.

Dr. Jose Rizal Youth Awards co-founder Atty. Ramon Paterno gave the inspirational remarks. -- END